Hopworks Urban Brewery: IPA

Posted: May 14, 2011 in Bottle, Oregon, Tall-boy, U.S.A.
Tags:

Well, it’s time for me to try my first ever Hopworks Urban Brewery beer. It is also often refereed to as HUB. An interesting fact about HUB is that they are Portland’s first Eco-Brewpub which brews all organic beer using local ingredients. The fact they use 100% renewable energy is a pretty big deal. They even use rain barrels to collect rain and even compost their organic waste. In today’s society they have actually made a huge leap forward towards helping the environment well still doing what they love. I tip my hat to you gentlemen and gentlewomen. Today I am going to try their IPA.

The IPA poured out a crystal clear copper yellow. The head was a mild half finger tall but was pure white and evenly laced the glass as it slowly receded. The aroma is quite strong with an orange citrus in the forefront, accompanied by floral and pine hops. It has a gigantic upfront taste of bitter pine hops with flashes of orange and tangerine flavor crystals tickling the palette. The feeling in my mouth is quite smooth. With a mild exception of a mild bitterness lingering at the back of my tongue, the aftertaste is quite sweet like toffee.

6.6% IPA

Leave a comment